Skip to main content

All states received waivers for assessment and accountability in 2020 due to widespread school closures due to COVID-19. As Spring 2021 summative testing approaches, states are considering and submitting waivers for assessment and accountability and related areas. The submission deadline has been extended by the Biden administration for states’ consideration.

Near three-fourths (72%) of the nation’s states have submitted assessment/accountability waivers to the USDE for consideration as of As of April 30, 2021.

Monitor the status of state waiver requests below. Click on the individual state of interest:

State Waiver Requests – 2021
AlabamaHawaiiMassachusettsNew MexicoSouth Carolina
AlaskaIdahoMichiganNew YorkSouth Dakota
ArizonaIllinoisMinnesotaNorth CarolinaTennessee
ArkansasIndianaMississippiNorth DakotaTexas
DelawareMaineNew HampshirePuerto RicoWest Virginia
FloridaMarylandNew JerseyRhode IslandWisconsin

2021 Waivers: The following states have submitted requests for assessment related waivers for 2020-2021: Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, DC, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Source: USDE Office of Elementary and Secondary Education:

** Updated April 30, 2021

Leave a Reply

Close Menu

Contact Us

National Association of Testing Professionals (NATP)
611 Pennsylvania Ave. SE
Box 462
Washington, D.C. 20003

T: 361-960-4619